News List

Four pioneering biomedical researchers win prestigious Lasker Award

Lasker awards is the annual prize, announced on September 11th, that rewards achievements in biomedical research and is often considered a precursor to the Nobel prize.Each award comes with a US$250,000 honorarium.

By Team ABLE

The Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation,on September 11th, announced the winners of its 2018 Lasker Awards:C. David All is from Rockefeller University and Michael Grunstein from the University of California, Los Angeles will receive the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award;John B. Glen, formerly from AstraZeneca, will be honored with the Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award; and Joan Argetsinger Steitz from Yale University will receive the Lasker-Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science. 

Widely regarded as America’s top biomedical research prize, the Lasker Awards carry an honorarium of $250,000 for each category. The awards will be presented Friday, September 21, in New York City.

C. David Allis and Michael Grunstein were awarded for discoveries elucidating how gene expression is influenced by chemical modification of histones—the proteins that package DNA within chromosomes.

John B. Glen was awarded for the discovery and development of propofol, the most widely used agent for induction of anesthesia in patients throughout the world. 
Joan Argetsinger Steitz bagged the award for her four decades of leadership in science—exemplified by pioneering discoveries in RNA biology, generous mentorship of young scientists, and vigorous support of women in science.